Radio Russia (Live from Moscow)


“Five dreams of Dragon”


Radio Russia presents a “Five dreams of Dragon” piece by Olesya Rostovskaya.

This music is a fragment of a ballet on five different Japanese legends about Dragons. It is composed for thereminvox, two koto (Japanese string instrument) and electronic phonogram (prerecorded). The idea araised from Japanese tradition to count koto as a “Dragon sleeping on a seashore”. This scene shows us the bottom of the sea, where Hoori-no mikoto meets Dragon and his daughter. In the middle of the fragment there is “Fuga-fish” made of only bubbles sounds. In the end of the fragment there is a wedding dance.


Natalia Golubinskaya, koto 1 – live

Natalia Grigorovich, koto 2 – live

Olesya Rostovskaya, thereminvox – live.


Olesya Rostovskaya

(composer, organist, carilloneur and thereminvox performer)

Olesya Rostovskaya was born in 1975. From 1993 to 2000 she studies composition at the Tchaikovsky Moscow Conservatory with of Albert Leman and organ with Oleg Yanchenko (finished in 2001). In 1999 she began to play thereminvox and carillon in 2006. In 2008 she graduated from the Saint-Petersburg State University as carillonist having studied with Jo Haazen and in 2009 from the Royal Carillon School “Jef Denyn” in Mechelen, Belgium (class of Jo Haazen again).

Currently Olesya Rostovskaya is highly active as a composer for symphony and chamber orchestras, different ensembles, choir, organ, carillon, thereminvox, vocal, music for theater, radio, electro acoustic music, which has already been performed in the best Moscow concert halls, such as:

the Moscow conservatory,

Glinka Museum,

International House of Music,

Roman Catholic Cathedral of Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary,

Composers Union,

Culture center “DOM”,

Optical theater,

National Center of Contemporary Arts,

Pro Arte Institute,

and on many of the major stages in Russia, Ukraine, Estonia and West Europe.

Olesya Rostovskaya also is an active performer with authentic, classical and contemporary repertoire and improvisations. Her music was awarded by various music contests in Russia:

Sacred music contest (1996);

First National Young Composers Contest (1999);

“New generation music” contest (2000);

Massalitinov’s national music contest (2005)

Piano improvisation contest (2006).

She is also a member of the Russian Composers Union.

→ BACK TO archive 2010