2016 / 20:20 – 20:40 [gmt] Czech Radio / Live from Prague


Radio station:                                 Czech Radio
Venue/s of the event:                  National Gallery in Prague
Links:                                 _   _            Ensebmle Terrible HAMU
                                           _                   http://utvilklingsang.sk
                                              _                http://www.pavelnovotny.net/eng/bio/
                                  _                            http://www.typlt.cz/international/
_             _____________               National Gallery in Prague / Fair Trade Palace
_                    _____________        https://www.facebook.com/artsbirthday
_              _____________              http://ab.rozhlas.cz

audio stream:             _                 _BALLONAIR
video stream:              _                 +

ballonCabaret suite on the texts of Hugo Ball for two extensive reciter, violin, tenor saxophone, banjo, accordion, tubularbells, cymbals, drum major and basophone

1. WOLKEN (Saloon)
2. KATZEN & PFAUEN (Mars mélancolique)
3. TOTENKLAGE (Slovak tango)

99 years, 11 months and 13 days after the opening of the Cabaret Voltaire, we release into the ether, quite prosaically, an aggregate of the poems of Hugo Ball, one of the founders of the Dada movement and a direct participant of the Cabaret Voltaire. Today, his six sound poems form part of the classical canon, and is cited both in the original recordings and in an innumerable amount of new realisations. The multiplicity of interpretations merge into white noise, the original meaning of which is lost in the history of the bygone century. The return to purely sonic language contains within it the moment, still current, of searching for the borders between poetics, impermanence and the danger of words uttered. The descent to some sort of “fossilic” foundations of the production of meaning in speech logically offers the option of using musical methods free from any specific connotations.

The sonic and textual performance will take place in the courtyard of the Trade Fair Palace of the National Gallery in Prague.

musical concept: Miro Thót
vocals: Jaromír Typlt, Pavel Novotný
music and sounds: Ensemble terrible HAMU / David Danel – violin, Miroslav Tóth – sopran a tenor saxophone, Tomáš Mika – banjo, Šimon Veselý – tabular bells,
grandcasa and cymbals, Petr Vrba – basophone