2021 / 22:40 – 23:00 [gmt] From all over

Future Voices / Zukunftsmusik

Radio station:                                ORF Kunstradio and Dlf Kultur
Venue/s of the event:                      Future Voices Website
Links:                                                   Future Voices Website
                                                                CTM Festival
audio stream:                                  stream

Future Voices / Zukunftsmusik
Society for Nontrivial Pursuits

Generative, interactive audio piece and virtual audiovisual installation, 2021

»Future Voices/Zukunftsmusik« invites people from all over the world to give voice to what they expect, hope, or fear for the future. Their contributions flow into a generative sound stream composed from these individual »Future Voices;« voices that would otherwise remain unheard within an attention economy that favours loudness, provocation, and conspiracy theories. S4NTP (Society for Nontrivial Pursuits) – a group of students, teachers, and associates of the class Generative Art / Computational Art at UdK Berlin – believe these voices have constructive things to say, and through their project channel the power of a collective and diverse sonic stream of consciousness.

Anyone wishing to contribute to the evolving piece is invited to access the Future Voices website, speak a few sentences in a language of their choice (or create other sonic or musical statements), and upload their recording. These recordings will flow into the generative artwork, continuously adapted by the S4NTP team to reflect the scope, meaning, and intentions of the contributions. In order to value the contributions with responsibility and artistic integrity, S4NTP concurrently provide a database of annotated sound files used in the artwork, allowing listeners to look up what they heard or read, find related statements and links, and thus engage more deeply with the flow of ideas expressed in the »Zukunftsmusik« stream.

»Future Voices« will stay online via their website until the end of 2021, as part of the Radio Lab Kontinuum call by Deutschlandfunk Kultur and CTM. Kontinuum sought generative artworks exploring the Transformation theme. The continuous stream will also be aired in between Deutschlandradio Kultur and ORF Austrian Broadcasting Service programmes throughout 2021.

FutureVoices: S4NTP currently includes Adel Akram Alameddine, Vinzenz Aubry, Valentina Berthelon, Alberto de Campo, Özcan Ertek, Pedro Ferreira, Bruno Gola, Isak Han, Hannes Hoelzl, Hyungjoong Kim, Yun Chu Liang, André Martins, Sujay Mukherjee, Sangwon Nam, Carlos Andres Ortega, Marcel Schwittlick, Ilija Šorševiç, MengXuan Sun, Fang Tsai, ChunLi Wang, Anne Wellmer, Tsingyun Zhang.

FutureVoices Unity team: MengXuan Sun, Hana Yoo, Marcel Schwittlick.

Commissioned for CTM Radio Lab by Deutschlandfunk Kultur – Radio Art/Klangkunst and CTM Festival, in collaboration with ORF musikprotokoll im steirischen herbst festival, Ö1 Kunstradio, The Wire magazine, and Goethe-Institut.

Society for Nontrivial Pursuits
The Society for Nontrivial Pursuits (S4NTP) creates audiovisual systems using devices, sensors, analogue electronics, and software synthesis for experimentation within installation, performance, and the point at which they overlap.